Thirty

DSC_0052

What worked for me in 2014

Following the leads of Anne at Modern Mrs. Darcy, and my friend Kat, before too much time gets away and I get focused on the year ahead, I thought I’d look back at what worked well last year.

  • Walk Strong videos with Leslie Sansone
    These were my mom’s videos, and I held onto them after she died. I had good memories of watching my roommate work out in our dorm room (I didn’t join her) with Leslie. I’ve tried the 30-day Shred with Jillian Michaels, and where Jillian is a pit bull, Leslie is a sweet, sweet kitten. If you need a drill sergeant yelling at you to get your fat a$$ in gear, stick with Jillian. If you want to feel encouraged just for putting in a DVD, go with Leslie. I try to do these at least 2-3 times a week. My kids even do these workouts with me, which makes it even more enjoyable.
  • Counseling
    I cannot say enough good things. This entire blog is pretty much an outpouring of things I learn in counseling. As my pastor says (and I’m inclined to agree), “Everyone needs counseling.”
  • which brings me to…Blogging
    I started blogging way back when Xanga was popular, in 2005. Then I moved to Blogger, and chronicled our early married days, our time in Kansas City, and all three kids’ birth stories (in detail…). I stopped writing not long after my mom died. This current writing space has been so enjoyable to write. It feels more honest, less put-together, and pressure-free. Just the way I like it.
    I also find myself picking up my camera again, which I didn’t even realize I had missed so much.
  • French Press
    I was gifted a french press by a friend when my coffee maker died, but I was intimidated by it. In reality, it’s incredibly easy to use and it really does make a difference in the taste of the coffee. And since I’m the only coffee drinker in my house, it’s not a big deal to make it just for me each morning. In fact, I find that I enjoy the ritual.
  • Goodreads, and my library’s Kindle app
    These two things helped me reach and surpass my reading goal last year. Goodreads kept me organized and inspired and my library kept me from breaking the bank. When my friend Leslie walked me through how to work the library app on my Kindle, my life changed forever. I am always impressed with how up to date my library is. Most often, if I’m looking for a title, they have it, and if they don’t, I fill out a request form and they buy it and put it on hold for me. It’s kind of addictive.

 

2 thoughts on “Thirty

Leave a Reply

