Thirty-eight

DSC_0004

I freely admit that I’ve always been a bit of a Scrooge when it comes to Valentine’s Day- referring to it as a “Hallmark-made” holiday and scoffing at chumps who shell out big bucks for roses simply because the calendar tells them to. For the past few years, however, I’ve found myself making heart-shaped food for my family each February 14th, and, today, cutting out hearts and stringing them onto garland for our mantel.

If there’s a day set aside that I can tell my people that I love them, why wouldn’t I embrace that? 

It doesn’t have to be with a Hallmark card, or a fancy dinner (in or out of the house), or even a gift. Ideally, it would be spoken in a language that speaks most clearly to each of them.

Last weekend, our little family took the online “Love Languages Quiz.” We had done this once before, when our boys were pretty young, so it was interesting to see how much they had or hadn’t changed. If you’re unfamiliar with the concept, basically you learn for yourself, your partner, and your children how best to communicate love. If your husband loves to receive love notes that express how and why you love and appreciate him, the Amazon gift card may not fully express what you want it to. Likewise, if all my son wants is for me to spend quality time with him- playing Legos or reading together, giving him a hug or a pat on the back as I walk right past him won’t speak to him in the same way.

You might think the Love Languages are silly or cheesy, but I think they can be used to understand ourselves and the people around us even better and to love and serve our people well.

And that’s what I’ll focus on tomorrow.

If you’re curious, here’s how our family stacked up:

Son 1: Words of Affirmation

Son 2: Quality Time

Daughter: Acts of Service

Husband: Physical Touch

Me: Words of Affirmation (I scored 12 out of 12 in this category, which was a surprise to no one.)

One thought on “Thirty-eight

  1. Pingback: Forty-four | numbered days

Leave a Reply

