Ninety-five (My one word for 2016)

DSC_0004

As I mentioned already, I’ve been coasting through life with the pause button pushed. Every single area of my life has been affected: relationships, motivation, prayer, exercise…everything.

I’ve never done it before, but one word seems to be popping into my head to serve as a reminder/motivation/goal for the new year.

That word is MOVE.

I’ve been reflecting on all the different meanings of the word and the different areas of life that it touches.

  • Location-
    May this be the year we MOVE to OKC.
    May the Green Door House become our new home.
    May Oklahoma City become our city, our community, our home.
  • Body-
    May this be the year I commit to MOVING every day. Exercise has never been a priority, but I know how important it is. I’ve been thinking about how much my personality and tendency to want to please means I might benefit from a personal trainer.
  • Feelings (be MOVED)-
    May this be the year I attend more theater productions, hear more live music, and surrender more fully during worship.
    May I read more stories and more memoirs and more compelling non-fiction.
  • Relationships (MOVE toward others)-
    May this be the year I practice true hospitality.
    May I initiate conversations and relationships.

May 2016 be a year marked by MOVEMENT.

Happy New Year, friends!

Leave a Reply

